MyPeBS en questions
Français

Homepage

MyPeBS (My Personal Breast Screening) is a clinical trial that is currently in progress.
This European trial, which is expected to last 6 years and enroll 80,000 women, is designed to assess the interest of individualized screening based on personal risk of developing breast cancer.

At first glance, this clinical trial appears to be of interest. Unfortunately, when we examine the protocol, we quickly notice that the trial's promoters have a clear pro-screening bias. And because of this bias, they made questionable decisions, resulting in serious flaws in MyPeBS.

Of course, these flaws are not mentioned on the official MyPeBS website. Nonetheless, it appears to me that both the doctors who are asked to be investigators and the women who are offered to participate in the trial have a right to complete information on MyPeBS's strengths and weaknesses.
We can rely on the MyPeBS official website for the strengths. This website's vocation is to address the flaws.

Furthermore, it is difficult to make an informed decision about MyPeBS without first understanding the current uncertainties surrounding the benefit/risk ratio of breast cancer screening as it is currently practiced. For this reason, a section of the site is dedicated to an overview of breast cancer screening.

This website is divided into three sections :

- a critical analysis of MyPeBS

- a critical analysis of current breast cancer screening methods

-
updates on MyPeBS and breast cancer screening



Last news

16/08/2021 - A new example of semantic shift: from non-inferior to more beneficial.
The MGEN mutual insurance company invites its members to take part in MyPeBS through its website. Once again (see news of 19/07/21) MyPeBS is presented as a study aimed at demonstrating the superiority of an individualized screening over the current screening.     Read more

19/07/2021 - Semantic shift from non-inferior to possibly superior. A good example!
The insurance and pension fund (CPR SNCF) of the French National Railways (SNCF) sends an email to women insured inviting them to participate in the MyPeBS study. Although MyPeBS is a non-inferiority study, the letter states that « researchers will assess whether personalized screening would be more effective than the one currently organized. »    Read more

28/06/2021 - To inform or to promote, one has to choose. The INCa's conflict of interest.
The INCa openly expresses its determination to promote breast cancer screening at all costs, even if it means deliberately withholding information from women and censoring the media if they want to report on it.     Read more

24/06/2021 - Unacceptable, French National Institute of Cancer (INCa) wants to introduce censorship of information on cancers !
By qualifying as Fake news the doubts expressed regarding the benefits / risks balance of breast cancer screening, INCa is implementing the first act of a strategy that aims to censor sites of information on cancers.     Read more

22/06/2021 - « Is breast cancer screening useless or even harmful ? » : analysis of French National Cancer Institute (INCa) arguments
After a post denouncing the unacceptable conduct of INCa, which treats as Fake news any questioning on the interest of breast cancer screening, here is an analysis of the arguments used by INCa.     Read more

20/06/2021 - When INCa (National Institute of Cancer France) is losing its nerve
Willing to do whatever it takes to promote screening, the INCa has just crossed a red line by qualifying as fake-news the questioning of the benefit/risk balance in breast cancer screening.     Read more



Dernière mise à jour le 06/10/2021

MyPeBS en questions
Anglais

Accueil

Un essai clinique est en cours, dénommé MyPeBS (pour My Personal Breast Screening = mon dépistage personnalisé du cancer du sein).
Cet essai européen, qui devrait durer 6 ans et recruter 80 000 femmes, est destiné à évaluer l'intérêt d'un dépistage individualisé en fonction du risque personnel de développer un cancer du sein.

Cet essai clinique est a priori intéressant. Malheureusement, quand on analyse le protocole, on se rend vite compte que les promoteurs de l'essai ont un net parti pris pro-dépistage. Et ce parti pris les a conduit à faire des choix discutables, si bien que MyPeBS présente de sérieux défauts.

Bien sûr, quand on va sur le site officiel de MyPeBS, ces défauts ne sont pas mentionnés. Il me semble pourtant que, tant les médecins qui sont sollicités pour devenir investigateurs que les femmes auxquelles on propose de participer à l'essai, ont le droit d'avoir une information complète sur les forces mais aussi les faiblesses de MyPeBS.
Pour les forces, on peut faire confiance au site officiel de MyPeBS. Pour les faiblesses, c'est la vocation du présent site.

Par ailleurs, il est difficile de se faire une idée sur MyPeBS sans avoir bien compris les incertitudes actuelles sur le rapport bénéfices/risques du dépistage du cancer du sein tel qu'il se pratique actuellement. De ce fait, une partie du site est dédiée à une mise au point sur le dépistage du cancer du sein.

Ce site comprend donc 3 parties :

- une analyse critique de MyPeBS

- une analyse critique du dépistage actuel du cancer du sein

-
des actualités autour de MyPeBS ou du dépistage du cancer du sein



Dernières actualités

16/08/2021 - Un nouvel exemple de glissement sémantique : de non-inférieur vers plus bénéfique.
Via son site internet, la mutuelle MGEN invite ses adhérentes à participer à MyPeBS. Une fois de plus (cf l'actu du 19/07/21) MyPeBS est présentée comme une étude visant à montrer la supériorité d'un dépistage individuaisé par rapport au dépistage actuel.     Lire la suite

19/07/2021 - Glissement sémantique de non-inférieur vers peut-être supérieur. Un bel exemple !
La Caisse de Prévoyance et de Retraite de la SNCF (CPR SNCF) envoie à ses assurées un mail d'invitation à participer à MyPeBS. Alors que MyPeBS est un essai de non-infériorité, il y est écrit que « les chercheurs évalueront si un dépistage personnalisé pourrait être plus efficace que celui organisé actuellement. »     Lire la suite

28/06/2021 - Informer ou promouvoir, il faut choisir. Le conflit d'intérêt de l'INCa
L'INCa affiche ouvertement sa volonté de promouvoir à tout prix le dépistage du cancer du sein, quitte à délibérément cacher aux femmes certaines informations et censurer les médias qui voudraient s'en faire l'écho.     Lire la suite

24/06/2021 - Inadmissible, l'INCa veut mettre en place une censure de l'information sur les cancers !
En qualifiant d'infox l'expression de doutes sur le rapport bénéfices/risques du dépistage du cancer du sein, l'INCa réalise le 1er acte d'une stratégie qui se propose d'instaurer une censure des sites d'information.     Lire la suite

22/06/2021 - « Le dépistage du cancer du sein est-il inutile, voire néfaste ? » : analyse de l'argumentaire INCa
Après le billet pour dénoncer le comportement inadmissible de l'INCa, qui traite d'infox toute interrogation sur l'intérêt du dépistage du cancer du sein, voici une analyse de l'argumentaire utilisé par l'INCa.     Lire la suite

20/06/2021 - Quand l'INCa perd son sang-froid
Prêt à tout pour assurer la promotion du dépistage, l'INCa vient de franchir une ligne rouge en qualifiant d'infox l'expression de doutes sur le rapport bénéfices/risques du dépistage du cancer du sein.     Lire la suite



Dernière mise à jour le 12/09/2021